buhle











{October 30, 2009}  

Crossing of the return threshold

This final transition is a symbolic rebirth back into the ‘real world’. Where we find our selves confused of what would become of us and which world would we choose to live in. From what we have learnt which is relevant and significant to us. But the journey doesnt seem to be over yet because adapting to it is a challenge and intimidaitng.   For example after Celie found out her mother had left her some wealth. It was hard for her because all her life she had nothing, yet she only abandoned her self to an abusive life that held her together.  

To start over again into building a new life of freedom and claim to herself was unthinkable. As she never knew the definition of freedom because she never experienced it. The poem I found was

Old Man Leaves Party by Mark Strand

It was clear when I left the party

That though I was over eighty I still had

A beautiful body. The moon shone down as it will

On moments of deep introspection. The wind held its breath.

And look, somebody left a mirror leaning against a tree.

Making sure that I was alone, I took off my shirt.

The flowers of bear grass nodded their moonwashed heads.

I took off my pants and the magpies circled the redwoods.

Down in the valley the creaking river was flowing once more.

How strange that I should stand in the wilds alone with my body.

I know what you are thinking. I was like you once. But now

With so much before me, so many emerald trees, and

Weed-whitened fields, mountains and lakes, how could I not

Be only myself, this dream of flesh, from moment to moment?

This poem illustrated the weakness of the flesh no matter how close it is to reaching its goal. There are only two outcomes submission and self control, they can never work together. The world is only enough for one.

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
